About Leadership Montana

Because Montana deserves great leaders, our vision is to be the premier leadership development organization for the state of Montana. Leadership Montana seeks to empower and energize leaders within organizations and communities to shape Montana’s future with enhanced leadership skills and a deepened knowledge of the challenges and opportunities facing our state.

Leadership Montana is 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization governed by a volunteer Board of Directors which meets bi-monthly. Our funding support is provided solely by contributions from businesses across the state. These organizations have demonstrated their commitment to Leadership Montana through their encouragement and financial support. Program development and delivery is partially funded by participant tuition. We are located on the Montana State University-Billings campus through the generous in-kind support of the University.

Our Newsletter

Financial Accountability

Please use the contact form above to request a Form 990 from Leadership Montana.

Contact Us

Contact Information

Leadership Montana
PO Box 5155
Bozeman, MT 59717

Phone: 406-896-5877

Our Leadership Team

Chantel Schieffer


Chantel joined the Leadership Montana team in 2014 and is an alumna from the Class of 2010.

Chantel is from Kalispell and graduated Montana State University with a degree in Political Science. She has spent the last two decades cultivating an exciting career in public relations, fund development, and public service.

Chantel is an active volunteer, currently serving the Montana State University Alumni Foundation, Montana Ambassadors, Eagle Mount in Bozeman, and the Governor's Commission on Community Service.

Her husband Dax (LM 2009) and their son Dax Michael live in Bozeman and play outside as much as possible.

Anna Berg


Program Manager
Anna recently joined the Leadership Montana team as the Program Coordinator in October 2015.

Anna grew up in White Sulphur Springs and graduated Montana State University with a degree in Animal Science. She has spent the better part of the last 3 years living in Vermont where she continued developing her leadership and management skills working as a Children’s Program Supervisor.

As Leadership Montana's Program Coordinator, Anna plans and executes logistical details for all meetings and events to ensure a high quality student program and alumni experience for Leadership Montana participants.

Anna enjoys being involved in community activities, volunteering, making new connections, and enjoying the outdoors to the fullest.


Jerry is a Great Falls native and graduated the University of Great Falls before going on to earn two Master’s degrees from Montana State University. Dr. Evans earned his Ph.D. from The Claremont Graduate University in the area of information processing and systems, and joined The University of Montana School of Business Administration faculty in 1988. Jerry has has devoted most of his teaching, research and publication activities to the areas of business information systems, business ethics and organizational leadership. Jerry was part of Leadership Montana's founding and served on the Board of Governors for several years.


Carmen is the Director of the Montana State University (MSU) Leadership Institute. She worked for five years as Director of the Leadership Fellows Program and five years as adjunct faculty in management for the College of Business. Carmen served on the Leadership Montana Organizing Committee, graduated with the Class of 2006, and has been a leadership trainer since 2007.

Board of Directors

Brenda Peterson, Chair
President/CEO, The Wendt Agency
Class of 2008

Amy Kellogg, Vice Chair and Alumni Chair
Owner, Vassallo Foods, Inc.
Class of 2013

Tom McGree, Treasurer and Past Chair
Chief Operating Officer, Ascent Bancorp
Class of 2008

Van Blakely
Chief Procurement & Real Estate Officer, Montana Rail Link
Class of 2012

Barbara Braided Hair
Branch Manager, First Interstate Bank
Class of 2005

Benjamin Cory
Partner/Attorney, Crowley Fleck, PLLP
Class of 2013

Jamie Doggett
Owner, Camas Creek Cattle Company
Class of 2009

Rolf Groseth
Retired Chancellor, MSU Billings
Original Steering Committee

Laurence Hubbard
President/CEO, Montana State Fund
Class of 2007

Rick Leuthold
Chairman, Sanderson Stewart
Class of 2010

Leslie Messer
Executive Director, Richland Economic Development Corp
Class of 2008

Mike O’Neill
Director of Organizational Development & Labor Relations, NorthWestern Energy
Class of 2007